Tuesday, December 02, 2008

Are You Kidding Me

The Conerly Trophy, for the most valuable player in Mississippi, was announced tonight and awarded to Juan Joseph of Millsaps. The Millsaps quarterback won the award ahead of Ole Miss players Michael Oher and Peria Jerry, both all SEC lineman. I am not going to get too deep into this, because I am sure Joseph is a great player. But you can't tell me a QB from some Division III school is a better player than Peria Jerry or Michael Oher. I mean this guy goes to Millsaps. Half of the people that comment on this website could have played and started for Millsaps. Peria Jerry was the most dominant player I have seen at Ole Miss in quite sometime. He is without a doubt one of the best SEC lineman in the past few years. I just lost all respect for this award.

I hope they make these media votes public. Because I would love to know how some of these guys voted.

(Clariion Ledger)CLARKSDALE — Millsaps quarterback Juan Joseph capped a stellar small-college career tonight with one more surprising victory — in the voting for the Cellular South Conerly Trophy. Joseph won the award, representative of the best college football player in Mississippi, over a pair of projected NFL first-round draft choices from Ole Miss, defensive tackle Peria Jerry and offensive tackle Michael Oher.Although two players from Division II Delta State have won the award, Joseph is the first player from the NCAA’s lowest level (Division III, where athletic scholarships are not awarded) to win in the trophy’s 13-year existence.A senior from Edgard, La., Joseph led Millsaps to an 11-1 record this season. The Majors were ranked as high as No. 3 nationally in one Division III poll and reached the second round of the NCAA Division III playoffs, where the Majors lost 35-20 last Saturday to Washington and Jefferson College.Joseph led Millsaps in rushing with 76 carries for 412 yards and four touchdowns and he completed nearly 68 percent of his passes (301 for 445), for 3,463 yards, 32 TDs and only six interceptions.A panel of about 60 media representatives around the state voted on the award, which was handed out following a ceremony at Clarksdale Country Club in the hometown of Charlie Conerly, the former Ole Miss quarterback for whom the award is named.