Monday, May 21, 2007

Easley Named Ferriss Winner

As we all predicted.

(Clarion Ledger)
CLEVELAND — Catcher Ed Easley became the second Mississippi State player in as many years to win the Cellular South Ferriss Trophy tonight, beating out Ole Miss shortstop Zack Cozart and Belhaven College infielder/pitcher Thomas Royals for the award as Mississippi’s top baseball player in 2007.
Easley follows in the footsteps of former Bulldog Thomas Berkery, who won the award last year.
Easley is MSU’s second-leading hitter with a .377 average. He leads the Bulldogs in home runs (12) and RBIs (59), and leads the Southeastern Conference in throwing out would-be base-stealers, gunning down 26 of 46 runners who have attempted to steal.