Monday, February 05, 2007

Former Reb Makes NFL Hall of Fame

MIAMI, Fla. -- Former Ole Miss tackle Gene Hickerson, who played 15 seasons for the Cleveland Browns as the lead blocker for three Hall of Famers -- Jim Brown, Leroy Kelly and Bobby Mitchell -- was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.
Eligible for 29 years, Hickerson joins tackle Frank M. "Bruiser" Kinard as the only players from Ole Miss to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Kinard was inducted in 1970.
Also voted in were wide receiver Michael Irvin, running back Thurman Thomas, offensive lineman Bruce Matthews, defensive back Roger Wehrli and tight end Charlie Sanders. Hickerson and Sanders were the two nominees of the veterans' committee.
The six-man class was elected by the Hall of Fame's 40-member Selection Committee who met Saturday in Miami. The newest members of the Hall were selected from a list of 17 finalists that had been determined earlier by the committee.(SID)